Diocese of Portsmouth

Vacancy-in-see committee

These are the people who will be meeting to decide what kind of person our diocese would like as its new bishop. Some of them will also serve on the Crown Nominations Commission, which will interview candidates and choose which names will be submitted to Downing Street for consideration. To contact them, please email: vacancyinsee(at)portsmouth.anglican.org

The members of this group are

Anthony CaneThe Very Rev Anthony Cane

Dean of Portsmouth
Contact him here.

Victoria JamesVictoria James

Diocesan Secretary
Contact her here

Paul ArmsteadRev Paul Armstead

Vicar, St James, Milton
Associate Area Dean, Portsmouth

Lucy DochertyCanon Lucy Docherty

Holy Trinity and St Columba, Fareham
General Synod representative
Bishop’s Council member and Cathedral Lay Canon

Amanda CollinsonRev Amanda Collinson

Vicar, Northwood and Gurnard
Area dean, Isle of Wight

Mark EmertonMark Emerton

Vice-chairman, Farlington PCC
General Synod representative

Peter Leonard Ven Peter Leonard

Interim Vicar, Newport and Carisbrooke with Gatcombe
Archdeacon of the Isle of Wight
General Synod representative

Stuart Forster Canon Stuart Forster

Crofton parish
Chair, Deanery Finance Committee
Bishop’s Council member and Cathedral Lay Canon

Dozie MonemeRev Dozie Moneme

St Paul’s Church, Barton, Isle of Wight

Sarah McCarthy-Fry Canon Sarah McCarthy-Fry

Treasurer, St Saviour, Shanklin
Chair, Deanery Finance Committee

Jenny Rowley Ven Jenny Rowley

Archdeacon of Portsdown
Contact her here

Canon Hilary Spurgeon

Reader, Binstead and Havenstreet with Wootton
Bishop’s Council member
Cathedral Lay Canon Emeritus

Kim Weeks Rev Kim Weeks

Associate minister,
North End Team Ministry, Portsmouth

Debbie Sutton Canon Debbie Sutton

St Jude’s Church, Southsea
Chair, House of Laity, Diocesan Synod
Cathedral Lay Canon

Bob White Canon Bob White

Vicar, St Mary’s, Fratton
Chair, House of Clergy, Diocesan Synod
General Synod representative