Diocese of Portsmouth

Ordination of Deacons 2021

Start date
26 Jun 2021, 11 a.m.
End date
26 Jun 2021, noon
Portsmouth Cathedral, High St, Portsmouth PO1 2HA

Seven new deacons will be ordained at this special service in our cathedral.

The seven candidates have been through their theological training and a pre-ordination retreat, and are now ready to be ordained and to use the title ‘the Reverend’. They will serve as curates in parishes throughout our diocese.

The seven are:

  • Derek Johnston (who will serve at Cosham and Wymering)
  • Kate Lloyd Jones (who will serve at Greatham, Empshott and Hawkley with Priors Dean)
  • Anthony Lawrence (who will serve at Ventnor, Isle of Wight)
  • Katherine Message (who will serve at Harbour Church, Portsmouth
  • Heath Monaghan (Ordained Pioneer Minister, who will serve at Bembridge and Ryde, Isle of Wight)
  • Rajiv Sidhu (who will serve at Copnor St Cuthbert)
  • Alison Waterhouse (who will serve at Petersfield and Buriton)

Attendance to this service is by invitation only because of Covid restrictions, but it will be live-streamed on the diocese's Youtube channel.

Portsmouth Cathedral

St Thomas's Street Old Portsmouth, PO1 2HH

More info

Latest News

More news