Diocese of Portsmouth

Links between the Diocese of Portsmouth and Ghana

A full list of the known links between our diocese and Ghana is outlined below:

Deanery of Bishop’s Waltham

Deanery Link with Diocese of Wiawso (Ghana) and Bishop Abraham Ackah
This link was established following a visit to Wiawso in September/October 2009.

  • St Peter and St Paul Hambledon with St Matthew’s Attaboka
  • Botley, Curdridge and Durley (BCD parishes) with St James’ Akontombra
  • St Peter’s Bishop’s Waltham and Blessed Mary Upham with St Mark’s Subiri (+ 5 outstations)
  • Droxford, Meonstoke and Exton (the Bridge parishes) with Christ the King Bibiani
  • St Barnabas Swanmore, St John the Baptist Shedfield, St Nicholas Wickham, St Peter’s Soberton and Holy Trinity Newtown (Wickham Group) with St Peter’s Kesekrom and St Andrew’s Dwinase Wiawso District

Deanery representative: Alison Hubbard, alisonhubbard1@gmail.com

Deanery of Fareham

Deanery Link with the Diocese of Sekondi (Ghana)

Parish links:

  • Crofton Holy Rood with St Mark’s Essikadu
  • Holy Trinity Fareham with Good Shepherd Effia-Kuma
  • St John’s Locks Heath with St Matthew’s Awaso (Wiawso Diocese)
  • St Mary’s Portchester with St Paul’s Tarkwa
  • St Peter’s Titchfield with St Peter’s Tarkwa

Deanery representative:Linda Forster, linda.forster2013@btinternet.com

Deanery of Gosport

Deanery Link with the Diocese of Accra (Ghana)

No parish links with the diocese.

School link:

  • Lee on Solent Junior School with All Saint’s Primary School Takoradi

Deanery representative: Rev Margaret Hay , margarethay47@hotmail.com

Deanery of Havant

Deanery link with Koforidua Diocese

Parish links:

  • All Saint’s Denmead with St Paul’s Newtafo Akim
  • St Andrew’s Hayling Island with St Andrew’s Asesewa
  • St Faith’s Havant with St John the Divine Nsawam
  • St George’s Waterlooville with St Mary the Virgin Axim (Secondi Diocese)
  • St Peter’s Hayling Island with St John’s Nuaso
  • St Wilfrid’s and Westbrook Cowplain with St Augustine Larteh

School links:

  • Bidbury Infant School, new link being established with Koforidua Cathedral Schools
  • Potential link being sought with Cowplain Community Preschool

Deanery representative: Angela Herring, candaherring@btinternet.com

Deanery of Petersfield

Deanery link with Dioceses of Cape Coast and Dunkwa

Parish links:

  • All Saint’s East Meon with St Mary’s Ayifuah
  • St Mary’s Buriton with St Andrews Dominase
  • Buriton Village to Village link with Dominase and village schools
  • St John the Baptist West Meon and Our Lady Warnford with St John the Divine Winneba
  • St Mary’s Liss with Christ Church Cathedral Cape Coast
  • St Matthew’s Blackmoor and Whitehill with Bisease
  • St Peter’s Petersfield with St James Agona Swedru
  • Froxfield with Privit with St Thomas Anomabo

School links:

  • East Meon Primary School with St Cyprian School

Deanery representative: Barbara Shaw, barbara@cgshaw.co.uk

Deanery of Portsmouth

Deanery link with Diocese of Ho and Bishop Matthias Medadues-Badohu

Parish links:

  • Portsmouth Cathedral with St Anselm’s Cathedral Sunyani and Bishop Festus Yeboah-Asumah

School link:

  • Craneswater School Southsea with St Anselm’s Primary and Bishop Lemaire’s Primary schools in Sunyani

Deanery representative: Rev Canon David Power, davidmpower@ntlworld.com

Cathedral representative: Canon Marion Syms, marion.syms@btinternet.com

Deanery of the Isle of Wight

Deanery link with the Dioceses of Tamale and Sunyani

Parish links:

  • All Saints Ryde with St Aidans Wa
  • Holy Cross Binstead and St Peters Havenstreet with St Matthews Zagyuri (Tamale)
  • Holy Trinity Bembridge with St James Busunya
  • Holy Trinity Ventnor with Bishop Aglionby Cathedral Tamale
  • St Blasius Shanklin with St Andrew’s Techiman
  • St Catherine’s Ventnor with St Paul’s Wenchi
  • St Peter’s Seaview and St Helens with St Cyprians Bolgatanga
  • Calbourne, Newtown and Shalfleet with Yelwoko

School links:

  • Ryde School with Nako School Wa
  • St Catherine’s School with St Paul’s School Wenchi

Deanery representative: David Tamcken, d.tamcken@talk21.com

IDWAL Officers

Chair: Rev Max Cross, 

Vice-Chair: Canon Tom Kennar
023 9249 2129, email tomkennar@gmail.com

Treasurer: Mr Alan Hoad
023 9246 4982, email alan.hoad@ntlworld.com

Secretary: Canon Marion Syms
01243 373409, email marion.syms@btinternet.com

Publicity Officer: TBA