Diocese of Portsmouth

How IDWAL works

In 2002, our Diocesan Synod approved an IDWAL strategy. This included:

  • Ensuring that links are primarily about building relationships, mutual support and sharing experience
  • Developing links between our Deaneries and Ghana Dioceses. The current arrangement is:
  • Deanery Diocese
  • Bishop’s Waltham Wiawso
  • Fareham Sekondi-Takoradi and Wiawso
  • Gosport Accra
  • Havant Koforidua
  • Petersfield Cape Coast and Dunkwa-on-Offin
  • Portsmouth Ho
  • East Wight and West Wight Sunyani and Tamale
  • Portsmouth Cathedral Sunyani Cathedral and Kumasi
  • The parish of Alverstoke is linked with the Diocese of Wusasa (Nigeria)
  • Encouraging parish to parish links (in the context of the Deanery/Diocese partnership) and supporting visits
  • Commitment to the work of St. Nicholas Anglican Seminary, Cape Coast

Each Deanery has an IDWAL Committee, comprised of parish representatives, which co-ordinates parish and school links

The Diocesan Committee meets quarterly to exchange information, make policy and approve grants. Its membership is formed of Deanery and Cathedral representatives, and delegates from the mission agencies (USPG, CMS and MU). The Chair is appointed by the Bishop. The current executive officers are:

Chair: Canon Graham Morris - revcanongraham@gmail.com

Vice Chair: Rev Canon Tom Kennar - tomkennar@gmail.com

Hon. Secretary: Marion Syms - marion.syms@btinternet.com

Hon. Treasurer: Alan Hoad - alan.hoad@ntlworld.com

Publicity Officer: Linda Forster -linda.forster2013@btinternet.com

The IDWAL officers from Portsmouth (Canon Graham Morris), Chichester (Canon Ian Hutchinson-Cervantes) and Guildford (The Revd. David Minns) meet three or four times a year.