Diocese of Portsmouth

The Bishop of Portsmouth

The Rt Rev Christopher Foster, Bishop of Portsmouth
Bishopsgrove, 26 Osborn Road, Fareham, Hampshire, PO16 7DQ.

T: 01329-280247
E: bishop@portsmouth.anglican.org

Archdeacon of The Meon: Chair of Mission & Discipleship

The Venerable Gavin Collins
(supports clergy & parishes in the deaneries of Fareham, Gosport, Bishop’s Waltham & Petersfield.)

P: Victoria Lodge, 36 Osborn Road, Fareham, PO16 7DS.
T: 02392 899696
E: gavin.collins@portsmouth.anglican.org

Archdeacon of Portsdown 

The Venerable Joanne Grenfell
supports clergy & parishes in the deaneries of Portsmouth & Havant

P: Diocesan Offices, First Floor, Peninsular House, Wharf Road, Portsmouth PO2 8HB
T: 02392 899672 or 07936 043945
E: joanne.grenfell@portsmouth.anglican.org

Archdeacon of the Isle of Wight

This post is currently vacant, but you can reach the Archdeacon's office here:

P: 5 The Boltons, Kite Hill, Wootton Bridge, Ryde, 
      Isle of Wight PO33 4PB
T: 01983 884432

Dean of Portsmouth


The Dean has oversight of the Cathedral and is the senior priest in the Diocese. The post is currently vacant, but Canon Peter Leonard is serving as acting dean.

P: Portsmouth Cathedral, Cathedral Office, St. Thomas's Street, Old Portsmouth, PO1 2HA. c/o Liz Snowball - Dean's PA.
T: 02392 892963
E: actingdean@portsmouthcathedral.org.uk

Bishop's Chaplain

The Revd Dr Richard Wyld
Richard provides spiritual and practical support for the bishop.
E: richard.wyld@portsmouth.anglican.org

Richard is in the office: Mon to Thu 09:00-17:00, Fri 09:00-14:00

Bishop's Personal Assistant

Clare Jones
supports the work of the Bishop of Portsmouth by providing secretarial and administrative services.

P: Bishopsgrove, 26 Osborn Road, Fareham, Hampshire, PO16 7DQ.
T: 01329 280247
E: clare.jones@portsmouth.anglican.org

Clare is in the office:
Monday to Thursday - 9.15am to 5pm

Bishop's Administrative Secretary

Rachel Houlberg
supports the work of the Bishop of Portsmouth by providing secretarial and administrative services.

P: Bishopsgrove, 26 Osborn Road, Fareham, Hampshire, PO16 7DQ.
T: 01329 280247
E: rachel.houlberg@portsmouth.anglican.org

Rachel is in the office:
Monday to Thursday - 9am to 3pm and Fridays 9am-2pm

PA to the Archdeacon of the Meon

Valerie Agnew:
supports the work of the Archdeacon of the Meon, by providing administrative services.

P: Victoria Lodge, 36 Osborn Road, Fareham, PO16 7DS
T: 02392 899697
E: valerie.agnew@portsmouth.anglican.org

Valerie works on: Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays.

PA to the Archdeacon of Portsdown

Anne Stunt
supports the work of the Archdeacon of Portsdown, by providing administrative services.

P: Diocesan Offices, First Floor, Peninsular House, Wharf Road, Portsmouth PO2 8HB
T: 02392 899672
E: anne.stunt@portsmouth.anglican.org

Anne works on: Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays.

PA to the Archdeacon of the Isle of Wight

Sally Rivlin
provides secretarial and admin support for the Archdeacon of the Isle of Wight and also supports the Isle of Wight area dean 

P: 5 The Boltons, Wootton Bridge, IOW, PO33 4PB.
T: 02392 899699
E: sally.rivlin@portsmouth.anglican.org

Sally works on: Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays.