Diocese of Portsmouth

Bishop Jonathan with those ordained deacon in 2023

Ordinations 2024

Our ordination services are those where our bishop commissions those who are set apart to be members of the clergy. The bishop lays his hands on those who have been discerned, trained and presented, with prayer for the gifts of the Holy Spirit and for the grace required for ministry as deacons or priests.

We have three separate ordination services in 2024: two taking place in June and one in September.

The list of those being ordained in 2024 is as follows:


To be ordained in our cathedral at 11am on June 29:

  • Emily Ashworth (to serve at Church of the Good Shepherd, Crookhorn);
  • Lorraine Collins (St John's, Fareham);
  • Tom Cooper (Buriton and Petersfield) - read more about Tom here;
  • Lizzie Davidson (Warblington with Emsworth):
  • Rosie Greenlees (Bishop’s Waltham and Upham)
  • Sandra Haggan (St Faith’s, Havant):
  • Polly Honeychurch (St Wilfrid, Cowplain):
  • Charlotte Hudd (West Wight):
  • Kevin Jones (St Simon’s, Southsea);
  • Jo Lorimer (Bedhampton);
  • Sue Moss (Hart Plain Church);
  • Jo-Anne Newton (Holy Trinity and St Columba, Fareham);
  • Jo Nicholson (Ventnor and Bonchurch);
  • Elizabeth Pearn (St Mary's, Portchester);
  • Paul Pope (St Mary’s, Alverstoke)
  • Sister Teresa-Lucia Sutton-Becker (North End Team Ministry):
  • Emma Taylor (Holy Trinity and St Mary's, Cowes, Gurnard and Northwood); and
  • Deb Vears (Farlington)


To be ordained in our cathedral at 4pm on June 29:

  • The Rev Will Alvarez (Lee-on-the-Solent);
  • The Rev Jenn Camirand (West Leigh);
  • The Rev Jan Fuller (St Luke’s, Southsea);
  • The Rev Sue Jones (Greatham, Empshott, Hawkley with Priors Dean; Steep, Froxfield and Privett);
  • The Rev Buffy Langdown (Denmead); and
  • The Rev Jill Phipps (Shedfield and Wickham)


To be ordained in our cathedral at 11am on September 28:

  • The Rev Karen Crowhurst (St Blasius, Shanklin);
  • The Rev Coleen Jackson (Portsdown and Purbrook);
  • The Rev Clare King (Holy Trinity, Bembridge) - read more about Clare here;
  • The Rev Bevaly Rackett (Haven benefice, Isle of Wight);
  • The Rev Richard Shurmer (St Cuthbert, Copnor) - read more about Richard here; and
  • The Rev Larry Stone (Harbour Church, Portsmouth)

Watch video highlights of our ordination services, June 2023: