St Lawrence, PO38 1XJ
St Lawrence Old Church dates from the 12th century and can be found in Seven Sisters Road. It is one of the smallest churches in regular use in England, seating a maximum of 40 people. It is situated near the cliff path (between Ventnor and Niton). An adjacent footpath leads down to St. Lawrence Parish Church (on Undercliff Drive) which is a short distance from the coastal footpath. Built in 1867 and designed by Sir Gilbert Scott, the Parish Church has a stunning collection of pre-Raphaelite stained glass windows by Edward Burne-Jones, William Morris and Ford Madox Brown, some of which were recovered from the Chapel of the National Chest Hospital when it closed in the 1960s.
For both churches, posters direct walkers to either church where they can make use of refreshment facilities provided.
Parish Communion for the benefice of four churches on the first Sunday in the month rotates around S
Evensong (1st Sunday only)